Home > Thoughts > Personal Statement Draft

Personal Statement Draft

The mighty personal statement, a painful exercise, is something I adore because of the personal high of pride and clarity I enjoy post-composition. The following are the directions provided for the current exercise: Describe your current educational goals, indicate future professional interests, and address your reasons for applying to a study abroad program. Entries should be about 500 words. Here goes nothing! (Do remember this is a draft. Jaja.)

My Native American ancestry operated on a cultural belief that nothing was owned personally by them and them alone. Their land and their people were part of everyone’s world, a shared owning of resources and experiences available to anyone who might come across them and need them. Trickling down through the generations, instilled in me, is a desire to explore and benefit from the worlds of others and to share ‘my’ world and its assets across physical and social lines. I seek immersion in the lands’ of international neighbors and to barter my guest-hood graciously by bringing a personal interest in healthcare to my hosts. Currently, I am a pre-medical student with intent to pursue professional qualifications in medicine. My academic career is preparation for a career that will focus on international relief and healthcare, specifically Doctors Without Borders. The Flagship program will provide me with international experience and the language proficiency required to reach my goals.

I came home from kindergarten espousing dreams of being the first female president, a graduate of Notre Dame, and a doctor for Doctors Without Borders. No one is sure how these seeds were planted, but my life’s harvest reaped completely different fruits, including a Bachelor of Science in Advertising and a project management career in Boston. After 10 years of exploration though, I’ve returned to my root interests of assistance and leadership in a medical capacity on an international level. To that end, I’ve re-matriculated into my alma mater to pursue pre-medical prerequisites and international exposure. This homecoming was spurred by a realized need of fulfillment to travel and to make a positive impact on the world, change I could not accomplish with long hours in my ergonomic office chair behind a glowing computer screen at my former employers marketing firm. I believe in the hybrid of medicine and travel because I believe medical philosophies differ across cultures and each contains valuable points that deserve attention by the larger medical community on the path toward best overall medical practices for humanity.

Accomplishing my academic goals will bolster the business, managing, and communications skills attained during my previous degree and career experience. With knowledge and training in medicine via Natural Sciences and professional schooling in healthcare as well as generous time studying abroad, I will employ my previous education and profession simultaneously with my current endeavors to navigate the complexities of international relief work and healthcare policy to make wider impact while also being able to work ‘on the ground’ to make direct impact.

The Flagship program became of marked importance after learning that participants gain professional fluency and have the opportunity to complete an internship abroad. With goals to make large scale change, having beyond conversational fluency in at least one additional language is pivotal to my success and credibility in affecting international systems. In addition, since I plan to work abroad, non-domestic internship experience provides me with a foundational background for doing so. My particular interest in India arose from an appreciation for Eastern philosophies, honed by the conversion of my bedroom into a personal meditation room during high school, and Indian culture, supported by an infatuation during college with Bollywood and Hindu legends.

Being part of the HUF program would be climactic of my long term developing interests in international healthcare and Indian culture. My participation in the program will equip me to accomplish my academic and professional goals toward international medicine and it will provide me with an opportunity to share my pursuits in India whilst letting the knowledge and needs of that country mold my pursuits. In this way, I can live and carry out the unifying philosophy of my ancestry by sharing ‘my’ world abroad and and having the worlds of others shared with me. Thus, in my individuality, I will purport the belief in a shared world of resources and experiences for the taking for anyone who finds them valuable.

  1. 07/23/2013 at 9:01 am

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something
    back and aid others like you helped me.

  2. 08/07/2013 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in truth used to be a leisure account it.

    Look complicated to more introduced agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Whatchoo know bout it?

