Home > Thoughts > Epic Olympics: London 2012, Small Goal Challenge

Epic Olympics: London 2012, Small Goal Challenge


The 2012 Olympics at London open in a single day and everyone is preparing for the 2 week drinking marathon. Similar to the NBA finals bar events, the Boston Marathon festivities, the Superbowl parties, and even the Inaugural parties, for those of us who are a little less interested in athletics, people are just looking for an excuse to drink and they’ve got plenty. It has been more than a month since my last drink. I didn’t exactly plan to quit drinking. I’m not even really sure what day I stopped or why I stopped, but I did and I like it. So while most people are looking for an excuse to party, I’m bringing it back like a true Greek. I am looking for an excuse for an athletic challenge. I’ve recruited a friend or two and we are kicking off our unofficial Olympic 2012 challenge tomorrow, July 27, with the opening ceremonies.

In honor of the Summer Olympics, I’ve have decided to work on sprints. There are only two weeks until closing ceremonies on August 12, 2012 so the goal has to be small and moderate. Enter the 200M dash. The world record for the 200M dash is 19.32 seconds and the average female high school track star runs it at about 26-30 seconds. I’m looking to get into that latter range by closing ceremonies. Cheers!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Whatchoo know bout it?

