Home > Thoughts > Badminton for Bad Bitches

Badminton for Bad Bitches

You may think Badminton is for lemonade bar-b-ques and good ol’ American family fun, but I’m finding out that Badminton is for bad bitches. I play Badminton and I play hard, but “I r not so good”, obvious by my bumbling and flopping awkwardly over the court.  It can look like a pansy sport because if you are doing it well, it should look effortless, but in actuality every move has to be extremely efficient.  You’ve got a small racket with a rubber and goose feather “shuttlecock” that you drive over a net. It sounds dirty like the many fetishes that come out of Asia, but this intense and innocent game dates back to fifth century B.C.  According to the NYTIMES.com, “Depending on the amount of spin, the shuttlecock, which can reach speeds of up to 100 miles an hour, will stop at the top of its arc, then nosedive toward the court.”  Like I said, Badminton is really for bad bitches.

When I joined my Badminton club, I remember being intimidated from 50 yards away.  I could see in the distance many Asians, even smaller with the yards between us, but with Badminton skills and well-sized attitudes that loomed over the entire gymnasium.  I almost turned around and booked it for the door.  This just isn’t for me I thought, but something stopped me–probably because I didn’t want to be THAT girl.  I didn’t want to be just another human, a sheep, that can’t step largely out of my comfort zone to embrace something that might turn out to have a deep impact on my personhood.  Thank Zeus for that mental push because Badminton might be one of the ‘illest’ things I’ve ever put myself into voluntarily.

I met Taiwanese, Chinese, and Indian players, all of whom welcomed me with cordiality that also probably dates back to Asia fifth century B.C.  I’ve never felt so at home or had so much fun.  This group of ESL Badminton bitches can only be described as peacefully embracing.  It doesn’t matter how you play, how hard you play, what you look like, who you are.  To be a bad Badminton bitch, you just have to play.

And this sport, like them all, isn’t above it’s own controversy.  As recently as 2011, the Badminton World Federation was planning to forcefully impose a rule that women players MUST compete in skirt or dress in order to raise the Badminton profile.  Thankfully, the bad bitches of Badminton rallied against this overt sexism and shut it down, dodging yet another way the world seeks to sexualize the female spirit rather than celebrate it’s strength and abilities.  Did you  know, “As recently as 2004, Sepp Blatter, the president of FIFA, soccer’s world governing body, suggested that women wear tighter shorts to promote “a more female aesthetic”? (NYTIMES.com)  This is why Badminton, like all sports, is for bad bitches; it does not matter what you look like, how beautiful you are, or who you are on the court/field/track.  Sports can be one of the few places in the world where women can escape the age-old pressures of feminism, sex, objectification, and the general expectation to give a little more than with what you are comfortable like a good girl.  Instead, you can be the bad bitch you are and give your all just for yourself, making that whipping sound, as you come down on a 100mph nose drive.

Come. To. Play.

Source(s): New York Times,  http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/27/sports/badminton-dress-code-for-women-criticized-as-sexist.html?ref=badminton

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Whatchoo know bout it?

